Multiplicity. Forms of Silence and Emptiness

ballet in two acts

music by Johann Sebastian Bach

2 hours 10 minutes
1 act
55 min
interval 30 min
2 act
45 min
for viewers over 12 years old

The ballet Multiplicity. Forms of Silence and Emptiness is one of Nacho Duatos best-known works. It immediately caught the attention of the critics and brought its creator the prestigious Benois de la Dance prize. The ballet was composed in 1999 for the theatre in Weimar, where Johann Sebastian Bach lived and worked for several years. It is Bachs music that forms the basis of Duatos work, in which he tells the story of the great composers life and work through the medium of eurhythmic dance. The two-act ballet is a combination of baroque music and modern choreography. It is virtually a biography and, unlike most of Nacho Duatos ballets, which have no plot, features specific characters the Composer, the Woman, and Death. The audience accompanies the characters through the main stages of the composers life and observes the miraculous creation of the music of a genius.

Premiere of the production: 21 March 2012

  • Choreography, Staging, and CostumesNacho Duato
  • Stage DesignJaffar Chalabi
  • Lighting DesignerBrad Fields
  • Costume TechnologyAlla Marusina
  • Musical Director of the productionMikhail Tatarnikov
  • Assistants to ChoreographerTony Fabre, Thomas Klein

What would you like
to see at the theatre?

Answer a few questions, and well select a performance to suit your taste

Select performances
More Gallery